Chapter 3: Diversity In Living Organisms

Q&A -Ask Doubts and Get Answers

Diversity in Living Organisms


Explain how animals in Vertebrata are classified into further subgroups.


Vertebrata – They are vertebral columns and internal skeletons. They are grouped into six classes:

1. Cyclostomata: They are jawless vertebrates that are characterised by having an elongated eel-like body, circular mouth, slimy skin and are scaleless. Example: Myxine.

2. Pisces: They are aquatic animals whose body are streamlined, and has a muscular tail is used for movement. Example: Mandarin fish.

3. Amphibia: These animals are found both in water and on land and have mucus glands in the skin,
and a three-chambered heart. Example: Frogs.

4. Reptilia: These animals are cold-blooded, have scales, and breathe through the lungs. They lay eggs with tough coverings. Example: Lizards.

5. Aves: These are warm-blooded animals that can lay eggs. There is an outside covering of feathers, and two forelimbs are modified for flight. Example: Ostrich.

6. Mammalia: They are warm-blooded animals with four-chambered hearts. They have mammary
glands for the production of milk to nourish their young. Example: Human.

Related Questions for Study

What our students and parents say about us!

Choose EduSakshamยฎ
Embrace Better Learning