Chapter 3: Diversity In Living Organisms

Q&A -Ask Doubts and Get Answers

Diversity in Living Organisms


What are the major divisions in the Plantae? What is the basis for these divisions?


Kingdom plantae is divided into five categories:

1. Thallophyta - The plant body is not differentiated into stem, root, and leaves. They are in the form thallus.

2. Bryophyta - Bryophyta are multicellular, autotrophic plants. Their body is differentiated into stem and leaf-like structures. 

3. Pteridophyta - In pteridophytes plant body is made up of root, stem, and leaves.

4. Gymnosperm - Gymnospermae is the most primitive and simple seed plant. They bear naked seeds (seeds are not enclosed within the fruits).

5. Angiosperm - Angiosperms are the most highly evolved plants. They have seeds that are enclosed within the fruit. 

Related Questions for Study

What our students and parents say about us!

Choose EduSakshamยฎ
Embrace Better Learning